South Sudan

One of the world's newest nations, South Sudan restored autonomous government from its northern neighbour in 2005 and in 2011 was internationally recognised as an independent sovereign State, bordering Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, The Democratic Republic of Congo, The Central African Republic and the Republic of Sudan. The country is a democratic presidential republic and has been making major efforts to increase government capacity since independence. Former rebel militias, who are now members of the government, have been accused of extreme human rights violations, including murder, rape and mass evictions, to cement central power in the country, along with intermittent outbursts of ethnic violence.

CRIN does not accredit or validate any of the organisations listed in our directory. The views and activities of the listed organisations do not necessarily reflect the views or activities of CRIN's coordination team.